Beaglesound

Please consider supporting CSN by supporting our advertisers!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice
I need some advice & thought I'd start here for fun.
Have any of you ever sent your lyrics to one of those free monthly contests? Once or twice they have told me a lyric wasn't good enough to win the contest, but they still wanted to do the demo for me. Well of course they still want to do the demo if I'm paying for it, right?!
This time they sent a publishing contract with the option of using my melody (which they haven't even heard yet) or with a new melody that they write. 
So, my question; does this sound legit, or does it sound like they're drawing me in so I'll pay for a demo?
Hi Shannon,

I think it is the latter, but I am no expert.
I am a damp hamster, a small moist rodent with a pea-sized brain... so what do I know?! 

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default....ID=1243220

I tend to agree. I'll call tomorrow & get some answers. I suppose there's a fine line between legit & legal. The human part of me so badly wants to expose this but doesn't know how. I was also told a long time ago never to trust a business that doesn't have a physical address. So P.O boxes are bad Smile
Thanks Damp!
sounds like they want to lure you in to pay for a demo..............

there are many reputable places to have a demo done

make sure your song is the best it can be before proceeding

have you looked into home recording?
Yes, Angela, & very expensive demos at that! No, haven't thought much about home recording. Maybe I would if I played an instrument, but my producer does a great job!
while I am reluctant to say automatically it's just a way to get your money without looking at the deal itself or knowing the reputation of the company wanting to provide this demo for you, it does still smell like a fishing lure!

I would be very reluctant myself to send them any money.